I went to renew some items that had expired and noticed that my deactivated listings are now being moved after they expire to the Expired section.
This can create confusion for sellers, especially sellers with a lot of listings.
If something expires, most of the time I choose to renew it but there could be dozens of reasons why I deactivate a listing, most likely because it is no longer in stock (sold elsewhere). When something that I deactivate gets moved to expired then I run the risk of accidentally renewing something that I don't even have. It doesn't really make sense to move a deactivated listing to expired. Sellers choose to deactivate listings. Etsy expires listings.
They really need to be kept separate. Please, go back to keeping deactivated listings Inactive and stop moving them to Expired.