Reviews

Average item review
5 out of 5 stars
(49)
esichel

esichel on Nov 4, 2016

5 out of 5 stars

I searched Etsy for a long time to find an artist that could do a custom portrait of our Frenchie, Scott. Greg's shop, WoundedWood, stood out right away. After corresponding with Greg about my ideas and Scott's personality, I knew he was the perfect artist for the job. I was right. And Greg's talent is just the beginning of why we are so delighted. Greg is a great listener and communicator, a genuinely good person, a guy who totally gets the connection between people and dogs, and most importantly a true craftsperson who can translate a living, breathing dog personality into a permanent tribute piece. We are so honored and touched to have our portrait from Greg. Of the hundred+ Etsy transactions I've had over the years, I'd easily say this was the best one ever. We love WoundedWood!

jrberkey2

jrberkey2 on Dec 9, 2015

5 out of 5 stars

got a gift certificate for someone who requested this for Christmas--they email it--and you print--and it is VERY nice--best email certificate I've seen! Thanks

Dustin Breithaupt

Dustin Breithaupt on Jul 12, 2015

5 out of 5 stars

The box is amazingly detailed and crafted with true quality. Super fast shipping and great communication. I will buy again!!!

rhondar17

rhondar17 on Jun 20, 2015

5 out of 5 stars

Pig Dog is fabulous, whimsical and fun! Greg is a talented artist with a unique vision for making old, found wood into something cool and new. This piece is a definite favorite as is this shop.

rhondar17

rhondar17 on Jun 20, 2015

5 out of 5 stars

We are absolutely pleased, pleased, pleased with Greg's portrait of our lovely pup! He managed to capture her personality perfectly and the quality of the finished portrait is more than I had anticipated by far. We loved receiving the origin of the "wounded" wood as well. Greg is certainly a master of his craft and a pleasure to do business with. I would highly recommend his work to anyone.

Christina

Christina on Dec 26, 2014

5 out of 5 stars

The portrait was so incredibly perfect for my brother after losing our Brittany, Tutty. It brought everyone to tears this Christmas, as the likeness was so spot on. Greg's work is such great quality, highly unique, and done extremely quickly. He had great communication with me throughout. I could not have had a better experience in going through this process! I have already recommended Wounded Wood many times and have shown off the portrait to everyone I can. The portrait will be cherished in our family for a lifetime.

janejgoulding

janejgoulding on Sep 2, 2014

5 out of 5 stars

Greg did an outstanding job of taking a photograph and turning it into a custom pet portrait. Not only does the portrait look like our grand-dog, he captured her personality as well. I can't wait to see the look on our daughter's face when she opens this very special and meaningful gift!

Oeppen

Oeppen on Aug 3, 2014

5 out of 5 stars

We LOVE our custom dog portrait! Beautifully done and very professional. Couldn't be happier. After much research we definitely chose the best artist for us. It's so unique and well-done. A great gift for my daughter who moved away from home and missed her dog. Now she can take this gorgeous piece of art (and her dog) wherever she goes!!

Holly Kube

Holly Kube on Jun 18, 2014

5 out of 5 stars

This pet portrait is so awesome! The time, effort and talent put into it is just amazing! I got one for my husband for Father's Day of his childhood dog and he just loved it! We will be doing business with Greg again for sure! This would be a great gift If you are looking for something unique and special!

fayemarguerite

fayemarguerite on May 18, 2014

5 out of 5 stars

I had a portrait done for a friend who lost her dog recently, and she loved it (as did I). Greg was super quick to get back to me on all the questions I had, and did such a wonderful job with Charlie's portrait and capturing his expression. The turnaround time was super fast, as well. I couldn't be happier, and will definitely recommend to my friends and family!

Megs Foreman

Megs Foreman on May 3, 2014

5 out of 5 stars

Greg has immortalized our puppy daughter in modern way. His aesthetic has an illustrative quality similar to rotoscoping (appropriate for Austin, indeed.) The woodworking itself is skillful - definitely not mickey mouse carpentry. He took great care to get to know us and our dog before production and collected many photos to get an understanding of her personality. Communication was frequent and he went our of his way to finish/ship the portrait in a timely (though not rushed) manner. Really, we couldn't be happier. So happy, in fact, that we're going to put in an order for another right away. I can't recommend Greg's work enough.

popko22

popko22 on Apr 26, 2014

5 out of 5 stars

Greg sent my newest piece of artwork quickly. I received it with no problems. The piece is awesome! love the sad hipster whale, it goes with all the hipsters in SF. :)

Mack Kaswell

Mack Kaswell on Mar 21, 2014

5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely love this unique piece I purchased. It was a bit of an impulse buy but I'm glad I did it! Cool piece for my living room and a plus that I can hide valuables in it :) Greg was a pleasure to deal with from start to finish during our transactions (see my review for his custom woodburned pet portraits), extremely timely, and clearly very skilled at what he does. Furthermore, his customer service skills are impeccable; these days, it seems companies and people forget how important it is to treat people nicely, but Greg is just naturally a good person, very refreshing. I ABSOLUTELY will do business with him again very soon. It's rare that I review sellers on Etsy or Amazon but Greg went above and beyond and other sellers should be taking notes and learn from him. THANK YOU!!! Mack

Mack Kaswell

Mack Kaswell on Mar 21, 2014

5 out of 5 stars

First things first, I am 1000% pleased, ecstatic actually, about my purchase from WoundedWood. I ordered a custom woodburned portrait of one of my Pit Bulls, Kona, and it came out even better than anticipated. Greg was a pleasure to deal with from start to finish during the transaction, extremely timely in doing the portrait and shipping it, and clearly very skilled at what he does. Furthermore, his customer service skills are impeccable; these days, it seems companies and people forget how important it is to treat people nicely, but Greg is just naturally a good person, very refreshing. I ABSOLUTELY will do business with him again very soon. It's rare that I review sellers on Etsy or Amazon but Greg went above and beyond and other sellers should be taking notes and learn from him. THANK YOU!!! Mack

J Shelley

J Shelley on Feb 18, 2014

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful artwork!!! Greg was great at answering questions and keeping me updated.