We recently started to release a new feature called Close Your Shop. If you're a seller on Etsy, it provides a way to switch back to a buyer only account. Close Your Shop is live for a small percentage of members. Hopefully this isn't too exciting to you (we love your shop!), but it's an important milestone. Before we go into more detail, I'd like to explain the history behind this feature and what's on the horizon.
On Etsy, a person, their account, and their shop have always been deeply connected. Your username is the same as your shop name, you can only have one shop per account, and only one account can manage a shop.
As Etsy has grown and evolved, this has come to make less sense. What if you start as a buyer and then want to open a shop but your username doesn't make sense as a shop name? What if you want to open a second shop? In both these cases, you need to create a new account. That's no fun. Maintaining multiple accounts is a hassle.
Right now, it's difficult to represent who you really are on Etsy, especially if you're a person who runs multiple shops and also buys things on Etsy. We're going to change that.
Reworking the relationships between people, accounts, and shops on Etsy has been a major infrastructure project. The exciting news is we're now at the point where we can build features on the new infrastructure that remove the limitations of the old system. The first feature is the ability to close your shop (without closing your whole account).
After Close Your Shop, we're going to release the ability to change your shop name (separate from your username) and then the ability to manage multiple shops with one account.
We don't have a timeline for when changing your shop name will be released, but we're working on it and will keep you updated as we get closer.
*Details on Close Your Shop*
In Your Account > Your Shop > Shop Settings > Options, there's a tab for Close Your Shop.
When you close your shop, your shop and listings won't appear anywhere on Etsy. People who try to view your shop or one of your shop's listings will see a page not found error. Closing your shop does not prevent buyers from leaving feedback. Feedback left for your shop and your shop's transaction pages will remain public and accessible from your profile. You can continue to view your billing history and Sold Orders in Your Account. Your shop name will not go back into the pool of available shop names.
You can only close your shop if you have a zero balance on your bill and no open non-delivery cases. When you close your shop, we delete the credit card info you had on file. You can reopen your shop any time, and you'll need to validate a credit card when you reopen your shop.
We'll keep you updated as we roll Close Your Shop out to everyone over the next few weeks.
If you have questions, please post in this thread.