Close

Discussions

Sign in to participate in this discussion.

Do you ever get self-conscious?

So, I just sold the first piece of jewelry I have ever put up for sale (on another site).

When I was packaging it for the customer, I got this intense wave of anxiety. "What ifs" started ransacking my mind until I finally had to turn on Adult Swim and put on a pair of wool socks and just chill for a minute.

I'm an intense perfectionist, and I always feel like what I'm sending out is in some way very flawed, and that my customer is going to hate it and demand their money back, in which case, I would apologize profusely and refund every cent of the sale back.

I'm worried that it's only going to intensify as this goes on, and wondered if this amount of anxiety is healthy and keeps you motivated to continue producing better work, or if it's a deal-breaker.

It it normal when you start selling things that you make? I'm VERY new at selling anything that I've made with my hands. Do you get over it eventually and acquire a more confident attitude? Am I just crazy?

32 Responses

Congratulations on your first sale! It is the ultimate compliment when someone makes a purchase of something you made. Just take some deep breathes and smile. You made it, you deserve to sell it, and you did.
Congrats on your first sale. It is always exciting to get a sale..
Chelsea, you just described my feeling exactly. I had to send two things in one week, one to the US and one to UK. I was in a panic thinking all kinds of bad things. I am still a bit in a tizzy because neither buyer has actually gotten back to me for feedback or even to say they received it. I will worry for 6 months! lol
Congratulations on your first sale, Chelsea!