Close

Discussions

Sign in to participate in this discussion.

How'd You Start?

How did you start your craft? Was it something you always knew how to do? Something you became interested and passionate about?

I started almost a year ago after being bored one day and going to the library. I found Martha Stewart's Encyclopedia of Crafts to find something to make. I found a bath tea recipe that looked fun and decided to try. I made it, and my husband and I tested it that night. It was so much fun and I just started researching more and more natural bath & body recipes.

The rest is history! I made this my full-time thing in December 2011!

77 Responses

I've been sewing for over 40 years but put my sewing machine away for atleast 15. Then, my youngest daughter had her first baby 2 years ago, and the spark reignited. Now, I can't stop dreaming up new things to make for new mom's. Loving my journey.
I started making jewelry back in middle school, stopped during college, and re-started again afterwards. After making too many pieces for me to wear, and selling a few to friends, a friend who sold her own stuff on Etsy convinced me to try it. I'm happy I did!
Ohhh been doing this for so long it's second nature to me. I just pick up hook or needles and yarn and my hands automatically work hahaha
I started crocheting at 8 years old, on and off for my whole life, I made gifts for people mostly.... then in 1999 I adopted my first retired racing greyhound. Before she arrived I purchased 5 dog sweaters for her... when she arrived none of them fit her properly... so I designed my own pattern, and A & B Originals was born. Have been making dog sweaters for 13 years now.