Discussions

Sign in to participate in this discussion.

Question for Graphic Artists - Photoshop or Corel? Please HELP me!

Which software do you use or would recommend that I use? I am NOT a graphic artist but am planning to purchase Photoshop CS5 or Corel Draw Graphic suite. Mainly for editing photos of my girls' clothing, but my husband would also use it to interface with a Laser Metal Engraving machine he wants to purchase (I see a future Etsy shop on his horizon :>) I have lots of anxiety about learning the software. I was leaning towards Photoshop (it's more popular - right?), then someone told me Photoshop has a steeper learning curve than Corel draw. On the other hand I think there's more help available in terms of classes and tutorials for Photoshop, than there is for Corel. Any advice, warnings, or feedback would be much appreciated! Thank you so much!!!!!!!!!!

41 Responses

Hi Cheryl! I have my bachelor's in graphic design. I would definitely go with Photoshop! It's the industry standard and it's not too complicated to pick up because as you mentioned, there's a lot of help and tutorials out there. Good luck to you and your Hubby!
Photoshop is what I would recommend!
Amy -thank you for the suggestion. Your photos are gorgeous. Love your pins!

-Cheryl
Striking photos Celticcatphotos! Only in my dreams will I ever reach such a level of quality with photos as you have :>)
Default avatar
Inactive Etsy Member 9:39am Apr 20, 2012 EDT
Definitely Photoshop!
So far, the results are Photoshop 3.....Corel zip, zero, nada......Hmm Sounds like Photoshop IS the way to go. Can anyone elaborate on reasons for going with Photoshop over Corel? Thanks everyone!!!!!
If you don't mind my saying, buying Photoshop CS5 just to edit photos is a rather expensive option. You could do that just as well with Photoshop Elements for example.

Photoshop is ideal if you are going to be doing lots of other graphics things too, perhaps fixing old photos, or creating images.