Discussions

Sign in to participate in this discussion.

Etsy vs Ebay

Default avatar
Inactive Etsy Member 7:38 pm May 22, 2012 EDT
I am new to both Etsy and Ebay, so not a lot of history with either, however I have been reading about so many success here, so I wanted to join.
Since joining I have not really had much traffic or anything really. I have begun promoting, but I think I am hitting a wall of frustration. On ebay it seems like it costs so many fees, but they bring the traffic to you. Here seems the opposite. I guess what I am getting down to besides a good vent, is there a etsy secret? Do you have to have a 100 items before getting more then 10 views a day? Let alone a order. Just trying to decide if this site is worth my time, and I really hope some of you will help me, and encourage me otherwise. Etsy has got to be better then Ebay right?
Thanks

22 Responses

you have to work 100x's harder here.
Hi Emily,
I did Ebay for many years (2001-2006ish) and I was very very successful. I still occasionally sell there, but it is rare. The fees are way too high at this point to make it worth my while.
Selling anywhere takes time and work, Emily. There is no "secret". Just hard work, tweaking your keywords, making product, figuring out price points, "testing" items in your market to see what sells.
Improving photography skills, marketing yourself with social networking
There is no magic. Just lots of hard work.
Watch Etsy community videos and learn learn learn. Try and test items under various keywords to see what works best to bring you the customers in your target market.
That's what it takes Emily...
no secrets...

I've sold both on Etsy and Ebay. It's always going to be a work in progress.
Depending on what you sell one market may be a better fit than the other. That being said if you give Etsy a try just remember that, again, it takes patience and a little time to see results.