Discussions

Sign in to participate in this discussion.

Relying on Etsy income?

I've been sellling in my shop since December 2011, so my shop is relatively new. I've had a few pretty decent months (for me and the time I commit) but I'm hesitant to rely on the extra income. I was considering budgeting a small fraction in as income each month but it worries me.

At what point did you start to rely on the income from your Etsy shop?

85 Responses

I don't rely on my Etsy shop at all. I don't really get that much revenue anymore. Etsy money that I get is like candy machine change :) Hey! - If it snacks a college student, I guess It's okay!
Don't really rely on it just yet!

My Hot Rod Car Magnets are starting to pick up steam as the car cruising season has just begun!
I don't rely on it. I do etsy because I enjoy it. I don't need the income to live. Sure it's nice to have the extra money - means I can go shopping guilt free :-)
I've been selling for over a year. I WISH I could rely on Etsy money as income, but I can't!
But I suppose that if I made as much money as I do with my "Real" job (which isn't that much, really) I would THEN rely on it & call it my income! :D
Default avatar
Inactive Etsy Member 8:15 pm May 24, 2012 EDT
Etsy money that I get is like candy machine change :) Hey! - If it snacks a college student, I guess It's okay!
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
same here Etsy pays for my beer
like your stuff, it looks like fancy fishing lures
Default avatar
Inactive Etsy Member 8:15 pm May 24, 2012 EDT
i don't rely on it either... i DO consider it my second job though :D

i get income from etsy, and it is great during college especially while i am am majoring in studio art! all great for my portfolio.