Discussions

Sign in to participate in this discussion.

Package shipped to UK . . .

My customer is worried about a package that I shipped (from the US) to the UK. It's been about 3 weeks, and she says that she usually gets items from the US within 2 weeks. I know that sometimes it just takes a lot longer than that, but she just seems really stressed out about it. Is there a way for her (or me) to contact customs to find out whether there is a hold up, and why?

9 Responses

Um she could contact customs herself if she has the information but I do not know if they'll deal with someone outside the country: I'm new to that one.

3 weeks; if really ask her to wait (nicely) as you say they can be held up by customs (both leaving the USA and entering britain)

Is there a tracking number to see if it left the states ? In case or was us customs that held it up
I order things from the US (to UK) all of the time. Usually things do get here in about two weeks. However, over the last month, the post has slowed down A LOT. Things have taken about 4 weeks to get here. I had 4 parcels suck somewhere in limbo for a month.

It was also our holiday weekend last week and there may have been a delay getting out of the US...I had a package to the UK show up 6 weeks after I sent it..
Our postal system has really slowed down getting the packages out (but like to charge more)
I would tell her to wait at least another 7 business days
hope this helps
oh yes forgot to say - im in ireland and all of my recent pacakges have taken 2-4 weeks, usually im really lucky and its 1-2 weeks. one of them even took 8 weeks!
Thanks guys! This is great info.
It's the Queen's 60 year Jubilee right about now, too; not only does that mean more holidays, but I understand Royal Mail does more thorough examinations of packages to be on the safe side.
There is no point suggesting the buyer contacts customs as that isn't how it works here.