Discussions

Sign in to participate in this discussion.

Little help from jewelry sellers please!

Default avatar
Inactive Etsy Member 5:14pm Jul 11, 2012 EDT
I have been toying with the idea of turning some of my stitching into jewelry, and I finally took the leap and did it. I have been making bracelets out of Aida fabric for a while, this is my first attempt at using jewelry findings and what not. I have 2 questions. And I know jewelry is a very saturated category, but since this is all slightly weird and cross stitched, I thought it might stand out. Or, at the very least, something different/new in the store. Plus I had fun making them, so....

My first question is on the photos. I was unable to find a live model. I tried putting them on myself and having my husband take the pics, but apparently he has an IV of 5 hour energy shots because his pics are so blurry it's scary. I also tried using my 12 yr old son, and the necklace pics turned out okay, but the bracelets....He is not quite old enough to have "manly" hands, but, well let's just say that after an entire season of baseball and 1 week into football, his hands and arms look like he clawed his way out of a grave.

Okay, so, I have taken about 5 pictures of each item. 1 laying flat, 1 hanging, 1 with an item near by to show scale, etc. If I do say so myself, they all look pretty good. But which one should I use first? Does it make a difference?

2nd question is an easy one - I am not very familiar with all the terms for jewelry. As in, the type of clasps, size of beads, etc. Google has helped a bit, but is this something buyers find very important in a listing? I made sure to take pictures that showed what the closures and whatnot looked like. Should I take care to find the appropriate names, sizes, etc for everything, or can I wing it a bit, with a small explanation that I am not a full-time jewelry seller and/or knowledgeable about jewelry?

15 Responses

Default avatar