Discussions

Sign in to participate in this discussion.

What is the most efficient way to calculate shipping?

I'm new to etsy and calculating the shipping has been one of the most challenging things for me. For awhil I was estimating and would end up eating the cost on alot of items. Ive purchased a scale and just downloaded a Click n Ship program to my PC.

My question is- do people normally weigh out every single item and individually calculate for that item based on whatever is listed online before they put their item up for sale? Also is there an easy way to figure out rates if I only know the weight of my package? Say it is 3lbs. All I need to tell the customer is the estimate for USA, Canada, and Everywhere else. Well usually when you try to calculate shipping with any of the apps or programs I've seen, you have to enter a specific zip code, which would be impossible to do if I'm looking for a general estimate for countries outside of the US.

Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated! Or just anything you can tell me about shipping! Thanks so much!

14 Responses

If your items are different weights, then pick one item of each weight, pack it up like you're going to ship and then weigh each one. Make a note of it and then go to usps.com and use their calculator to figure it out. However, the best thing you can do is figure out what the furthest zip code is from yours and use that rate. I don't know how you'd do that though, since I was given the one that's furthest from me, years ago.

ETA
One thing you can do to make it easier is to use the priority mail flat rate packaging from the PO, which is free.
don't forget package size which can also change the price of shipping!