Discussions

This topic has been closed.

Am I allowed to make and sell things based on mario, yoshi or other copyrighted images?

I am just confused if I am allowed to make something that is "mario" themed and obviously mario etc. I have seen things on etsy being sold like cell-phone cases with mario's face on them. Can I do that without getting into trouble with the makers of mario?

thank youuu!

97 Responses

You'd have to get permission from the individual corporation.

Etsy doesn't police it.
People do it. But I'd bet 99% of them are doing so illegally.

If you do get permission, make sure you note that in your item descriptions as a lot of sellers on here boycott shops selling illegal items.
nope
etsy does not police copyrighted material, but obviously one should not morally do it. If the companies find out, you could be up for a lawsuit.
Default avatar
Inactive Etsy Member 4:34 pm Jul 9, 2011 EDT
Hi, GypsyGarden,

This is NOT legal advice, and I am NOT a lawyer....

However, in my 'other' life, I have spent considerable time defending my husband's intellectual property- which is a fancy way of saying something that is copyrighted or trademarked.. In this case, the image, name (if used to represent Nintendo's Mario) and song of 'Mario' is OWNED by the Nintendo Corporation- if you use it, and do not pay them, it could possibly result in HUGE fines- and they do pursue it.

Using something that is copyrighted, or trademarked- such as a photo, image, song, written words, book, or copying a building design, video, movie, game, or in this case, the image of Mario, created and owned by Nintendo- is the same as walking into a store and stealing a Mario Brothers game,