Report this item to Etsy

San Francisco Rent Increase Calculator 2026-27, 1.6% Allowable + Banking + Notice Letter Excel for SF Landlords

Item highlights

  • Digital download
  • Digital file type(s): 1 ZIP

Seller's description

San Francisco max rent increase is 1.6% through 2/28/2027. Excel finds the new rent, send-by date and notice letter. Example: $2,400 to $2,438.40.

WHAT THE 2026-27 FIGURE IS (checked 2026-11-01)
1.6% allowable annual increase for March 1, 2026 to February 28, 2027, from the SF Rent Board announcement on sf.gov. San Francisco resets every March 1. The percent used is the one in effect on the date the increase takes effect.

WHO IT IS FOR
Small landlords with a rent-controlled unit in the City and County of San Francisco.

WHAT IS INCLUDED
- Excel workbook with EXAMPLE NUMBERS filled in so you can see every tab working, plus a blank copy with the same formulas
- Inputs tab: current rent, last increase date, notice date, personal or mail delivery, unit details
- Calc tab: highest new rent, dollar increase, notice days required (30, or 90 if over 10%, plus 5 if mailed), the effective date to use, a send-by date and a check that the date falls inside the 2026-27 rate year
- Banking tab: add skipped years to the current year (simple sum; see the CHECK list)
- Coverage check tab: flags units that may be outside the local limits (newer building, single-family home or condo) and shows the AB 1482 state cap of 8.8% as a fallback check
- Notice Letter tab: a plain-language draft that fills itself from the numbers
- Rates tab: each rate with its source link, a checked date and a VERIFIED or CHECK tag. Every formula pulls the rate from here
- Rules and Checklist tabs, plus a 2-page HOW-TO-USE PDF

EXAMPLE NUMBERS
Rent $2,400.00, last increase 01/01/2026, notice mailed Monday 11/16/2026. Highest new rent $2,438.40 (+$38.40, 1.6%). Mail adds 5 days, so 35 days of notice are needed. The 12-month rule sets the effective date at 01/01/2027, and the send-by date is Friday 11/27/2026. Try it (not in the example file): enter rent $2,000, skipped 2025-26 = yes, last increase 12/01/2025, personal delivery on 10/20/2026, planned date 12/01/2026, and the Calc tab shows 3.0% and $2,060.00. Try it for a state-cap unit: rent $2,000, unit type single-family home or condo, tenancy start 02/01/2020, no in-law unit, last increase blank, planned date 02/01/2027, and Calc shows the 8.8% AB 1482 cap and $2,176.00. All names in the example file are made up. Replace the blue cells with your own.

WHAT IT DOES NOT DO
Estimates only. Confirm with the SF Rent Board. This is not legal advice. It does not decide whether your unit is covered (the Coverage check tab only flags likely cases), file your rent increase license or Housing Inventory report, serve the notice, or handle capital improvement, utility or other passthrough petitions. The send-by date is this sheet's own arithmetic, not a Rent Board formula.

CHECK LIST (13 items in the Rules tab to confirm before you rely on the file)
1. 2024-25 rate 1.7% (3/1/2024-2/28/2025). The Rent Board page used it only as an example; the full history table is a PDF a person must open and copy. Check it before relying on a banked 2024-25 year.
2. 2023-24 rate 3.6% (3/1/2023-2/29/2024). Taken from a search snippet of the Rent Board notice. Check it against the same PDF before relying on a banked 2023-24 year.
3. Rounding the new rent to the nearest cent is this sheet's choice. Confirm cent rounding with the Rent Board.
4. How skipped years combine (simple sum or compounding) and any limit per notice were not stated on the pages read. This sheet adds the skipped percentages. Confirm with the Rent Board before relying on the total.
5. General rule: the limits apply to units with a first Certificate of Occupancy on or before 6/13/1979 in buildings of 2+ units. Code text (37.2(r)) was not read.
6. Other exemptions (government-owned or restricted units, hotels, some owner-occupied cases) exist in 37.2(r). The Coverage check does not test them.
7. Costa-Hawkins vacancy, subtenant and assignee rules (37.3(d)): check before using this sheet for a tenancy with a subtenant, assignee or later co-tenant.
8. Use the first Certificate of Occupancy, not the Assessor 'year built', as the legal test. Check the SF Planning Property Information Map.
9. Civil Code 827 (30/90 days) and Code of Civil Procedure 1013 (+5 days mailed) were not read on leginfo. The Rent Board page states the 30/90/+5 rule.
10. The Housing Inventory portal link and annual renewal details were not read. Ask the Rent Board.
11. Whether any Rent Board form must go with an increase was not found on sf.gov. Confirm with the Rent Board. The Notice Letter tab is a draft, not a Rent Board form.
12. Capital improvement, operating cost and utility passthroughs need a Rent Board petition and are not covered by this sheet. See the Rent Board.
13. The 8.8% applies only to units outside the local limits and not exempt under the state law. Check each exemption yourself.

UPDATED EACH YEAR
This file is for the 2026-27 rate year (3/1/2026-2/28/2027). A new file is made for the next rate year.

Instant digital download (Excel .xlsx + PDF). Personal use, one per buyer, no resale or sharing. Nothing is mailed to you. Opens in Microsoft Excel; no macros.

Made by Cap Rate Studio with an AI generator.

View more
Etsy's Purchase Protection

If something goes wrong with an order, we've got your back for all eligible purchases. View program terms

Price:$12.00

Loading

You can only make an offer when buying a single item

Delivery

Instant download

Your files will be available to download once payment is confirmed. Here's how.

Instant download items don't accept returns, exchanges or cancellations. Please contact the seller about any problems with your order.

Seller's description

Specifications

San Francisco max rent increase is 1.6% through 2/28/2027. Excel finds the new rent, send-by date and notice letter. Example: $2,400 to $2,438.40.

WHAT THE 2026-27 FIGURE IS (checked 2026-11-01)
1.6% allowable annual increase for March 1, 2026 to February 28, 2027, from the SF Rent Board announcement on sf.gov. San Francisco resets every March 1. The percent used is the one in effect on the date the increase takes effect.

WHO IT IS FOR
Small landlords with a rent-controlled unit in the City and County of San Francisco.

WHAT IS INCLUDED
- Excel workbook with EXAMPLE NUMBERS filled in so you can see every tab working, plus a blank copy with the same formulas
- Inputs tab: current rent, last increase date, notice date, personal or mail delivery, unit details
- Calc tab: highest new rent, dollar increase, notice days required (30, or 90 if over 10%, plus 5 if mailed), the effective date to use, a send-by date and a check that the date falls inside the 2026-27 rate year
- Banking tab: add skipped years to the current year (simple sum; see the CHECK list)
- Coverage check tab: flags units that may be outside the local limits (newer building, single-family home or condo) and shows the AB 1482 state cap of 8.8% as a fallback check
- Notice Letter tab: a plain-language draft that fills itself from the numbers
- Rates tab: each rate with its source link, a checked date and a VERIFIED or CHECK tag. Every formula pulls the rate from here
- Rules and Checklist tabs, plus a 2-page HOW-TO-USE PDF

EXAMPLE NUMBERS
Rent $2,400.00, last increase 01/01/2026, notice mailed Monday 11/16/2026. Highest new rent $2,438.40 (+$38.40, 1.6%). Mail adds 5 days, so 35 days of notice are needed. The 12-month rule sets the effective date at 01/01/2027, and the send-by date is Friday 11/27/2026. Try it (not in the example file): enter rent $2,000, skipped 2025-26 = yes, last increase 12/01/2025, personal delivery on 10/20/2026, planned date 12/01/2026, and the Calc tab shows 3.0% and $2,060.00. Try it for a state-cap unit: rent $2,000, unit type single-family home or condo, tenancy start 02/01/2020, no in-law unit, last increase blank, planned date 02/01/2027, and Calc shows the 8.8% AB 1482 cap and $2,176.00. All names in the example file are made up. Replace the blue cells with your own.

WHAT IT DOES NOT DO
Estimates only. Confirm with the SF Rent Board. This is not legal advice. It does not decide whether your unit is covered (the Coverage check tab only flags likely cases), file your rent increase license or Housing Inventory report, serve the notice, or handle capital improvement, utility or other passthrough petitions. The send-by date is this sheet's own arithmetic, not a Rent Board formula.

CHECK LIST (13 items in the Rules tab to confirm before you rely on the file)
1. 2024-25 rate 1.7% (3/1/2024-2/28/2025). The Rent Board page used it only as an example; the full history table is a PDF a person must open and copy. Check it before relying on a banked 2024-25 year.
2. 2023-24 rate 3.6% (3/1/2023-2/29/2024). Taken from a search snippet of the Rent Board notice. Check it against the same PDF before relying on a banked 2023-24 year.
3. Rounding the new rent to the nearest cent is this sheet's choice. Confirm cent rounding with the Rent Board.
4. How skipped years combine (simple sum or compounding) and any limit per notice were not stated on the pages read. This sheet adds the skipped percentages. Confirm with the Rent Board before relying on the total.
5. General rule: the limits apply to units with a first Certificate of Occupancy on or before 6/13/1979 in buildings of 2+ units. Code text (37.2(r)) was not read.
6. Other exemptions (government-owned or restricted units, hotels, some owner-occupied cases) exist in 37.2(r). The Coverage check does not test them.
7. Costa-Hawkins vacancy, subtenant and assignee rules (37.3(d)): check before using this sheet for a tenancy with a subtenant, assignee or later co-tenant.
8. Use the first Certificate of Occupancy, not the Assessor 'year built', as the legal test. Check the SF Planning Property Information Map.
9. Civil Code 827 (30/90 days) and Code of Civil Procedure 1013 (+5 days mailed) were not read on leginfo. The Rent Board page states the 30/90/+5 rule.
10. The Housing Inventory portal link and annual renewal details were not read. Ask the Rent Board.
11. Whether any Rent Board form must go with an increase was not found on sf.gov. Confirm with the Rent Board. The Notice Letter tab is a draft, not a Rent Board form.
12. Capital improvement, operating cost and utility passthroughs need a Rent Board petition and are not covered by this sheet. See the Rent Board.
13. The 8.8% applies only to units outside the local limits and not exempt under the state law. Check each exemption yourself.

UPDATED EACH YEAR
This file is for the 2026-27 rate year (3/1/2026-2/28/2027). A new file is made for the next rate year.

Instant digital download (Excel .xlsx + PDF). Personal use, one per buyer, no resale or sharing. Nothing is mailed to you. Opens in Microsoft Excel; no macros.

Made by Cap Rate Studio with an AI generator.

  • Item type
    Digital download
  • Digital file type(s)
    1 ZIP
Shop with confidence
Etsy Purchase Protection

If something goes wrong with an order, we've got your back on all eligible purchases. View program terms